強化洞見內容與治療結果的健康照護技術

全球健康照護系統正面臨慢性病病患急遽增加的挑戰,成本更日益上升,因此整條健康照護產業鏈的所有關係人,不論是製藥公司、臨床醫師、醫師與病患,皆致力尋求各種方式來提供更高效率的健康照護系統並改善病患結果。

創新的健康照護技術能協助此產業轉型,化被動為主動,而 Arm 提供的基礎技術具備成本效益,適用於各種健康照護領域的安全、低功耗、高效能電子裝置,可協助改善病患治療結果與人類的生活。

觀點

以較低成本提供完美照護

當今的健康照護服務主要是由醫師與病患面對面互動來實現,讓病患承擔龐大負擔。慢性病患必須監控自身的生命跡象,並注意各種可能需要呼叫醫師的異常現象,若情況更迫切,病患可能需要前往急診室,為健康照護系統帶來高額成本。

最新的裝置製造商能開發以電池供電的小型監視器、智慧貼片甚至是吸入器,在其中加入機器學習功能,這些創新有利於健康照護人員遠端進行診斷、提供服務或監控病患。針對能改變生活的各種裝置,Arm 與全球合作夥伴的生態系能提供所有必備組件,不論是現成裝置或客製化系統單晶片 (SoC) 都一應俱全,而且占用面積小、處理能力強大。

及時介入措施

臨床醫師開立藥物後,病患可能會選擇不服藥,或者以錯誤方式用藥。沒有好好依照處方用藥在問題出現前往往不會被發現,然而,科技有助於及早介入,而 Arm 提供的運算能力讓閉環系統發揮效益,同時給予病患、醫師、製藥公司與家庭成員一臂之力。現代的診斷裝置及健康照護解決方案若能即時處理資料,即可提供有意義的見解,有助於改善病患治療結果。

從群體健康

若能以較低的成本為更多人進行基因定序,將可取得必要洞見來加速醫療診斷,同時讓藥物研發更可靠。然而,設備體積越來越小,而且醫師診間的定序技術需要低功耗、甚至是電池供電的解決方案。

Arm 合作夥伴使用演算法進一步優化效能,大幅提升基因定序的運算速度與規模,因此醫療分析與治療可針對個人特定需求進行調整。在超高速、超低功耗 CPU (如Arm Cortex-A 處理器)、Arm Mali 繪圖處理器與 Arm 平台的機器學習加持下,以上進展都有可能實現。

人工身心協助

機器人在數個健康照護領域能扮演關鍵角色,例如精密手術、老年照護與情感陪伴。例如,手術機器人非常適合用於複雜的侵入性治療,滿足最精密的運動控制需求。

這類應用的複雜程度與運算能力各有不同,同時涵蓋決策能力與精密運動。Arm 的即時技術 (如Safety Ready 計畫產品組合) 具備擴充能力,搭配合作夥伴豐富而強大的生態系,能夠促成這些不斷演進的機器人應用,同時以最高等級確保病患與健康照護專業人員的安全。

邊緣的機器學習

全球產生的健康照護資料堆積如山,因此醫療業正在探索如何借助人工智慧 (AI) 技術的力量,來制訂複雜決策與治療計畫。

不只是 DeepMind 或 IBM Watson 等系統能以人工智慧協助醫師加強照護品質,越來越多部署於基礎建設邊緣的電池供電醫療器材 (如血壓監測器、自動注射器和擁有多樣資料來源的行動電話) 也會搭配機器學習功能使用人工智慧系統,而且皆與電子病歷相連線。

使用場景

各種創新成果與設計理念在此實現

氣喘吸入器的嵌入式機器學習

Respiro 是全球首款商業的吸入器,能有效監控吸氣技巧與頻率,以及病患操作吸入器的方式,為醫師及病患提供深入的資料。   

Arm Cortex-M 處理器與利用 Arm 技術驅動的機器學習 (ML) 演算法,是此救命技術背後的關鍵。

拯救生命的水質測試技術

全球每天超過 2,000 人因飲水感染而死亡。Waterscope 實惠的水質測試顯微鏡能輕鬆快速鑑定是否有細菌存在,協助坦尚尼亞與印度的社群降低汙染的衝擊。

偵測心臟病發的人工智慧

丹麥新創公司 Corti 的人工智慧 (AI) 協助緊急調度人員即時偵測急性重症,進而制訂救命決策。透過對通話內字眼、聲音與呼吸模式進行分析,調度人員能獲得提示問出關鍵問題,加速重要的 CPR 治療流程。

諮詢專家

進一步瞭解 Arm 與合作夥伴如何徹底改變健康照護產業。

聯絡我們
相關產品與服務

探索更多選項及功能

Cortex-M 處理器

Cortex-M 處理器系列

Arm 的 Cortex-M 處理器系列是最小且功耗最低的處理器,可用於穿戴式感測器與可植入式晶片,擁有即時機器學習演算法執行所需的運算能力。

Cortex-R 處理器

Cortex-R 處理器系列

先進矽晶圓製程的處理需要高效能、即時性與成本效益,而 Cortex-R 處理器系列的設計正能滿足其實作要求。Cortex-R 處理器用於需具備功能性安全以避免危險狀況的電子系統,例如汽車應用。 

Cortex-A 處理器

Cortex-A 處理器系列

Cortex-A 處理器系列提供更先進的用戶體驗與更豐富的介面,並提供複雜健康照護應用 (例如基因體定序) 所需的高效能運算。

Arm 軟體與工具

供微控制器用的軟體與工具

Arm Keil MDK 套件搭配 Mbed,成為物聯網與人工智慧應用建置與部署的平台。

創新

Arm 的觀點

Arm 與其全球合作夥伴生態系,是規模最大、產量最多及最具創造力的產品創新者社群之一。我們提供節能智慧功能,做為轉型應用與商業概念發想的基礎。瞭解 Arm 如何實現智慧科技。

運用 Arm 技術促成更安全的系統

在任何需要高度可靠性的系統設計中,功能性安全都是一項關鍵要素。我們與生態系合作夥伴提供技術,透過功能性安全應用打造強大的可靠性。此個案研究展現 Arm 功能性安全合作夥伴 IAR Systems 的能力,及其通過醫療器材軟體標準 IEC 62304 認證的工具。

Arm 與 UNICEF Malawi 為當地問題尋找高科技解決方案 

自 2015 年起,Arm 與 UNICEF 聯手運用科技的力量,改變全球最脆弱的兒童生活。雙方前往馬拉威奇克瓦瓦 (Chikwawa),共同探索 Arm 能提供協助之處,期望解決農村家庭難以取得醫療設施資源等問題。

Healthcare Technology for Improved Insights and Outcomes

Globally, healthcare systems are facing a massive rise in chronic conditions and experiencing increased pressure on costs. Everyone in the healthcare delivery chain—from pharmaceutical companies to clinicians to physicians and patients—is looking for ways to deliver a more efficient healthcare system and better patient outcomes.

Innovations in healthcare technology can help transform healthcare from reactive to proactive. Arm provides cost-effective, foundational technology for secure, low-power, high-performance electronic devices across healthcare to help improve patient outcomes and people’s lives.

Perspective
Better Care at Lower Cost

Healthcare today is primarily based on face-to-face doctor-patient interactions, with the burden resting heavily on the patient. Patients with chronic diseases must monitor their own vitals and look for abnormalities that might trigger a call to a physician, or worse yet, an emergency visit costing the healthcare system tens of thousands of dollars.

Now device manufacturers can develop small, battery-powered monitors, smart patches, and even inhalers that incorporate machine learning within the device; this innovation allows healthcare diagnosis, delivery, or monitoring to take place remotely. Whether an off-the-shelf device or a custom System-on-Chip (SoC), Arm and our global ecosystem of partners provide everything required, including robust processing power in a small footprint, for devices that are transforming lives.

Learning from Interventions

When clinicians prescribe medications, patients may choose not to take the medicine or take it incorrectly. Often poor adherence to a prescription isn’t caught until something goes wrong, however, technology can help with early intervention and Arm provides the compute power needed for an effective closed-loop system that empowers patients, doctors, pharmaceutical companies, and family members. By processing data in real time, modern diagnostic devices and healthcare solutions can provide meaningful insights to help improve patient outcomes.

Population Health to Personalized Medicine

Allowing more people to be genetically sequenced at lower cost provides the insight needed for faster medical diagnoses and more reliable drug development. However, equipment is getting smaller, and sequencing technology in the doctor’s office demands low power, and even battery-powered solutions.

Arm partners are using algorithms to drive further performance optimizations, drastically increasing computing speed and scale for genomic sequencing, so medical analysis and treatment can be tailored to a specific individual. These advances are made possible by ultra-fast, ultra-low power CPUs, such as the  Arm Cortex-A processors, as well as Arm Mali graphics processors and machine learning on Arm platforms.

Physical and Emotional Human Assistance

Robotics can play a critical role in healthcare in areas like precision surgery, elder care, and emotional companionship. Surgical robots, for example, are ideal for complex, invasive procedures where extreme motion control is required.

The level of complexity and compute in these applications is diverse, covering both decision-making faculties and precise motion. The combination of scalable, real-time Arm technology, including our Safety Ready Portfolio and a vibrant ecosystem of partners enable these evolving robotics applications, whilst ensuring the highest levels of safety for patients and healthcare professionals.

Machine Learning at the Edge

Given the mountains of healthcare data created around the world, the medical industry is already exploring the use of artificial intelligence (AI) technology to help with complex decision making and treatment plans.

Not only do systems such as DeepMind or IBM Watson give doctors AI support to offer better care, but battery-powered medical devices deployed at the infrastructure edge increasingly use AI systems, with ML capabilities, from blood pressure monitors to autoinjectors to mobile phones with multiple data sources—all connecting to the electronic patient record.

Use Cases
Where Innovation and Ideas Come to Life
Embedded ML in Asthma Inhalers

Respiro is the world’s first commercial inhaler to effectively monitor inhalation technique and frequency, and the patient’s handling of the inhaler, providing in-depth data to both doctor and patient.   

Arm Cortex-M processors and Arm-powered machine learning (ML) algorithms lie behind this life-saving piece of technology.

Life-Saving Water Testing Technology

Every day, more than 2,000 people die from water-borne infections globally. Waterscope’s inexpensive water testing microscopes are capable of identifying bacterial presence quickly and easily, helping communities in Tanzania and India to reduce the impact of contamination.

Heart Attack-Detecting AI

Artificial intelligence (AI) from Danish start-up, Corti is helping emergency dispatch staff make life-saving decisions by detecting critical illnesses in real time. By analyzing the words, sounds, and breathing patterns from the call, dispatchers can be prompted to ask the right questions that could accelerate vital CPR treatment.

Talk with an Expert

Learn more about how Arm and our partners are revolutionizing healthcare.

Contact Us
Related Products and Services
Explore More Options and Features
Cortex-M Processors

Cortex-M Processor Series

The Cortex-M processor series from Arm is the smallest and lowest power processors that enable wearable sensors and implantable chips; they provide the computing power to run real-time machine learning algorithms.

Cortex-R Processors

Cortex-R Processor Series

The Cortex-R processor series is designed for implementation on advanced silicon processes where high-performance, real-time, and cost-effective processing is required. Cortex-R processors are used in electronic systems that must be functionally safe to avoid hazardous situations, such as automotive applications. 

Cortex-A Processor

Cortex-A Processor Series

The Cortex-A processor series powers more advanced user experiences and richer interfaces, and provides the high-performance computing needed for complex healthcare applications like genomic sequencing.

Arm Software and Tools

Software and Tools for Microcontrollers

The combination of Arm Keil MDK and Mbed provides a platform for building and deploying IoT and AI applications.

Innovation
What We're Thinking

Arm and its global partner ecosystem is one of the largest, most prolific and creative communities of product innovators. We're providing power-efficient intelligence as the foundation for transformative applications and business ideas. See how Arm makes smart possible.

Enabling Safer Systems with Arm Technology

Functional safety is a critical element in the design of any system that requires a high level of reliability. With our ecosystem partners, we provide technology that enables robust reliability through the application of functional safety. This case study showcases Arm functional safety partner IAR Systems and its tools certified to the IEC 62304 standard for medical device software.

Ten Ways VR and AR are Transforming Healthcare

This insightful blog post discusses the ways in which virtual reality (VR) and augmented reality (AR) lead to a range of positive impacts on the physical and mental health of patients.

Arm and UNICEF Malawi Look for High-tech Solutions to Local Problems 

Arm and UNICEF have been working together since 2015 to use the power of technology to transform the lives of the world’s most vulnerable children. Together we visited Chikwawa District, Malawi to explore ways in which Arm can help with issues such as the difficulties rural households face in accessing health facilities.