Login

硬核处理器

硬核处理器 Image

ARM 硬核组合产品提供了 Cortex™-A 系列处理器的高性能和能耗优化的硬核单元实现形式。对于 SoC 设计人员而言,他们希望获得基于传统 RTL 的 SoC 开发策略所提供的多方面灵活性,又想消减这些工作所涉及的高昂成本和工作量,而 ARM 硬核设计产品系列正是他们理想的替代方案。设计人员可以通过该产品系列优异的 PPA(性能、功耗和面积)实现更高盈利能力,降低设计风险,并更加快速地将产品投放市场。

                              

 


虽然软内核实现方式对于需要完全自由与灵活性的团队来说仍是最佳的选择,但为了顺应最新行业趋势,设计人员已开始关注诸如使用 ARM 硬核这样的替代设计。 

ARM 硬核可促进设备差异化和具有高度竞争力的解决方案,从而使供应商能够取得更高层次的创新和盈利能力。对于新接触 ARM 架构或者是希望从基于 ARM9 和 ARM11 的设计向上迁移至 Cortex-A 的设计人员来说,ARM 硬核也是一种充满吸引力的选择。 

利用我们极为丰富的 ARM 处理器、工具、实现知识和经验,ARM 硬核可以提供经过精心优化的 PPA 结果,而这种结果即便是经验丰富的设计团队也难以通过传统的软内核实现策略来达到。

设计挑战和行业趋势

硬核的功能和优点

SoC 复杂性提高 
近些年来,随着 SoC 复杂性的提高,许多 SoC 现在都采用双核或四核。

设计简化 
ARM 硬核的设计已大大简化,风险得到缓解。
产品上市时间的压力
供应商面临着巨大的压力,进入市场早便会获得高额回报,进入晚则会产生不良后果。
加快产品上市速度,实现产品差异化
ARM 硬核提供了经过验证的可靠解决方案,使供应商能够集中精力实现关键功能和产品差异化。
市场带来的 PPA 压力
设计人员面临着需要取得 PPA 最佳平衡点的巨大压力。取得 PPA 平衡需要有 Vt 设计、DFT/DFM、电源门控等方面的综合技能与经验。
PPA 保证和集成化设计
ARM 硬核通过一种集成化的设计提供了高度优化和可靠的 PPA,该设计集处理器 IP、POP、电源域、时钟树插入、DFM/DFT 等功能于一身。
成本和风险障碍 
采用新技术或进入新市场所面临的高成本和高风险令一些供应商望而却步。
低成本、低风险
ARM 硬核可大大降低总拥有成本和设计风险,为供应商赢得市场成功提供了一条简单、低成本和低风险的路线。

     


ARM 硬核产品系列目前包含 Cortex-A5、Cortex-A9 和 Cortex-A15 处理器。

ARM Cortex-A5 单核 40LP 硬核

频率可达 1GHz 以上的尺寸最小、功耗最低的 ARMv7 CPU

Cortex-A5 UP(单处理器)硬核是第一款可进行许可的 Cortex-A5 处理器,这种处理器采用 TSMC 40LP 工艺,频率可达到 1GHz。如今的用户越来越习惯于先进的智能手机和平板电脑所提供的丰富多媒体和互联网体验。对这些功能和用户体验的需求正推动着众多下一代高价值设备的诞生 — 从低成本手机和特色电话,直至普遍使用的嵌入式设备、消费类设备以及工业类设备。Cortex-A5 UP 硬核提供了集高性能和低成本于一身的解决方案,通过集成 FPU、NEON™ 和TrustZone® 功能,可使未来的高价值设备具有高端图形化用户界面、多媒体、互联网浏览以及安全功能等丰富功能。


ARM Cortex-A9 双核 40G 硬核

频率可达 2GHz 的 Cortex-A9 双核处理器实现

Cortex-A9 双核硬核采用 TSMC 40G 工艺,芯片制造商利用此硬核可以面向消费和企业市场快速推出高性能、低功耗的 Cortex-A9 处理器设备,而且风险很低。该硬核分为两种 — 速度优化硬核和功耗优化硬核。Cortex-A9 速度优化硬核采用优异的低功耗技术,将 ARM 的性能领先优势扩大到高利润的消费类设备和企业类设备,而这类设备通常要求能耗低、体积紧凑、密度高,而且对热量有良好的控制。与普通的芯片相比,此实现方式可在超过 2GHz 的频率下运行,为注重性能的高利润应用提供了理想解决方案。功耗优化硬核 在能效极为重要的应用中,Cortex-A9 功耗优化硬核提供了极具吸引力的高性能和低功耗组合,在功耗预算紧张的情况下可以在 800MHz 频率下运行。


ARM Cortex-A15 四核 28HPM 硬核

频率可达 2GHz 以上的 Cortex-A15 四核处理器实现

ARM Cortex-A15 四核硬核采用 TSMC 28HPM 工艺,运行频率可达 2.0GHz 以上。这种低泄漏的实现集成有 NEON SIMD 技术和浮点 (VFP) 设计,在性能和功耗之间提供了极具竞争性的平衡,适合广泛的高性能计算应用,如笔记本电脑、高能效设备以及注重极高性能的网络和企业设备。


ARM 硬核提供了多种不同实现方式,而且还在不断增加。

目前提供了以下实现方式。

 

工艺 

处理器

TSMC
40LP 

 TSMC
40G 

TSMC
 28HPM

Cortex-A5 单核

 X 

   
Cortex-A9 双核

X

Cortex-A15 四核

X


ARM 硬核处理器融合了广泛的 ARM 技术(包括物理 IP 和开发工具),并得到了这些技术的支持。此技术由来自 ARM Connected Community™ 的各种不同 SoC 和软件设计解决方案、工具和服务提供补充,为 ARM 合作伙伴提供了一个涵盖全功能开发、验证和生产的通道,增加了设备的吸引力同时显著缩短了上市时间。

物理 IP

ARM 硬核基于一组高性能 POP™ IP,其中包含用于 40 纳米和 28 纳米技术的高级 ARM 物理 IP,使开发人员可以快速开发出先进的物理实现。ARM 还在很早就着手准备,确保遵循旨在实现 20nm 优化的路线图。

POP IP 支持旨在提供专用型物理 IP 的 ARM 战略,以支持合作伙伴获得优化的 ARM 内核实现。ARM 能够以独特的方式来设计 Cortex 处理器架构所需的优化包,使处理器和物理 IP 组合能够以移动设备的功耗来实现工作站级的性能,同时加快产品上市速度。

POP IP 由获得优化的 ARM 内核实现所需的三个重要元素组成。

  • 首先,它包含专为 ARM 内核和工艺技术进行优化的 ARM Artisan® 物理 IP 逻辑库和内存实例。此物理 IP 是 ARM 处理器部门工程师通力协作的结晶,并经过不断优化最终实现最优的结果。
  • 其次,它包含一份全面的基准报告,用来记录 ARM 在内核实现过程中取得的准确条件和结果。
  • 最后,它包含一个 POP 实现指南,其中详细说明了用于取得该结果并使最终客户能够快速而安全地实现相同结果的方法。

 


 

工具支持

所有 ARM 处理器在 ARM Development Suite 5 (DS-5™) 工具套件以及范围广泛的第三方工具、操作系统和 EDA 流中都是完全受支持的。

ARM DS-5 软件开发工具独一无二,能够提供的解决方案充分利用完整 ARM 技术组合的优势。ARM Development Studio 5 (DS-5™) 提供了一整套软件工具,用于创建、调试和优化基于 Cortex-A15 MPCore 处理器的系统。它纳入了 DS-5 调试器,该调试器具有强大且直观的图形环境,支持快速调试裸机、Linux 和 Android 本机应用程序。此外,其中包含的全新 ARM Streamline™ 性能分析器简化了软件中的热点识别和内核之间的负载平衡。利用 ARM 编译器以及ARM Versatile™ 参考虚拟平台(基于 ARM 快速模型技术构建),开发人员可以在芯片上市之前提前进行软件开发。此虚拟平台可提供 6 个月的免费评估试用期。


Maximise


Cookies

We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use our site you consent to our cookies.

Change Settings

Find out more about the cookies we set

Login

Hard Macro Processors

Hard Macro Processors Image

The ARM Hard Macro portfolio offers performance and power optimized hard macrocell implementations of the Cortex™-A series processors. For SoC designers looking to make a trade-off between the multifaceted flexibility offered by the traditional RTL based SoC development strategy and the significant costs and efforts it involves, the ARM Hard Macro portfolio is an exciting alternative that enables higher profitability through benchmarked PPA (Performance, Power, and Area), design risk reduction and faster time to market. 

                              

 


While soft-core implementation remains the best choice for design teams wanting complete freedom and flexibility, recent industry trends are making designers look at alternatives such as using ARM Hard Macros.  

ARM Hard Macros enable vendors to achieve higher levels of innovation and profitability by facilitating device differentiation and highly competitive solutions. ARM Hard Macros are also an attractive choice for designers new to the ARM architecture or those wishing to migrate upwards to Cortex-A from ARM9 and ARM11 based designs.  

Tapping into our vast pool of ARM processor, tools and implementation knowledge and experience, ARM Hard Macros provide finely tuned PPA results that are hard to beat using the traditional soft-core implementation strategies for all but the most experienced design teams.

Design Challenges and Industry Trends Hard Macro Features & Benefits

Increasing SoC Complexity 
SoC complexity has increased over the last few years, with many SoC now featuring dual or quad cores.

Design Simplification 
ARM Hard Macros offer significant design simplification and risk mitigation.
Time to Market Pressure
Vendors face massive challenges, with high rewards for early market penetration, but crippling consequences for project delays.
Fast Time to Market with differentiated products
ARM Hard Macros offer an assured and verified solution, allowing vendors to focus on key capabilities and differentiation.
Market Driven PPA Pressures
Designers face high pressure to hit PPA sweet spots. Getting the PPA balance right requires skill and experience with mixed Vt design, DFT/DFM, power gating etc.
PPA Assurance & Integrated Design
ARM Hard Macros offer a highly optimized and assured PPA in an integrated design that includes processor IP, POP, power domains, clock tree insertion, DFM/DFT and more in one package.
Cost and Risk Barriers 
The high costs and risks associated with adopting new technology or entering new markets does inhibit some vendors.
Low Cost, Low Risk
ARM Hard Macros significantly lower the total cost of ownership and design risks offering vendors an easy, low cost, reduced risk route to market success.

     


The ARM Hard Macro portfolio currently consists of the Cortex-A5, Cortex-A9 and Cortex-A15 processors.

ARM Cortex-A5 Single-core 40LP Hard Macro

The smallest, lowest power ARMv7 CPU capable of reaching over 1GHz

The Cortex-A5 UP (Uni-processor) Hard Macro is the first licensable 1GHz capable Cortex-A5 processor implementation in TSMC 40LP. Today’s users are increasingly accustomed to the rich multimedia and internet experience offered by leading smart phones and tablets. The demand for these features and user experiences is driving a wide range of next generation value devices from low cost handsets and feature phones to pervasive embedded, consumer and industrial devices. The Cortex-A5 UP hard macro provides a high performance, low cost solution enriching tomorrow’s value devices with high-end graphical user interface, multimedia, internet browsing and security capabilities through the integrated FPU, NEON™ and TrustZone® features.


ARM Cortex-A9 Dual-core 40G Hard Macros

2GHz Capable Cortex-A9 Dual-Core Processor Implementation

The Cortex-A9 dual-core hard macro implementations on TSMC 40G process enable silicon manufacturers to have a rapid and low risk route to silicon for high-performance, low-power Cortex-A9 processor-based devices for the consumer and enterprise market. The hard macro is available as two variants – speed optimized and power optimized. The Cortex-A9 speed-optimized hard macro incorporates aggressive low-power techniques to extend further ARM performance leadership into high-margin consumer and enterprise devices within the power envelope necessary for compact, high density and thermally constrained environments. This implementation operates in excess of 2GHz when selected from typical silicon and represents an ideal solution for high-margin performance-oriented applications. Power Optimized In applications where energy efficiency is of paramount importance, the Cortex-A9 power-optimized hard macro implementation offers an attractive mix of performance and low power, capable of operation at 800MHz under a tight power budget.    

ARM Cortex-A9 Dual-core 40LP Hard Macro

Performance optimized Cortex-A9 Dual-Core Processor Implementation

This implementation is optimized to obtain the best performance on the low power TSMC 40LP process. Ideally suited to SoCs operating within a tight power budget, yet wishing to provide a high level of performance and functionality, this hard macro is capable of delivering 1GHz+ performance. The implementation builds upon the inherent low power capabilities of TSMC40LP process through a strong design focus on reducing leakage and dynamic power while maintaining high performance levels.


ARM Cortex-A15 MP4 Quad-core 28HPM Hard Macro

Capable Cortex-A15 Quad-Core Processor Implementation

The ARM Cortex-A15 quad-core hard macro is capable of delivering more than 2.0GHz on a TSMC 28HPM process. The low leakage implementation, featuring integrated NEON SIMD technology and floating point (VFP), delivers an extremely competitive balance of performance and power and is ideal for wide array of high-performance computing applications for such as notebooks through to power-efficient, extreme performance-orientated network and enterprise devices.

ARM Cortex-A15 MP2 Dual-core 28HPM Hard Macro

Delivering exceptional power efficiency for Cortex-A15 based handheld devices

The ARM Cortex-A15 dual-core hard macro provides exceptional efficiency and is capable of delivering up to 10,000 DMIPS within a mobile power envelope on a TSMC 28HPM process.
The low leakage 9 track implementation, featuring integrated NEON™ SIMD technology and virtual floating point (VFP), includes a 1MB level 2 cache to deliver an extremely competitive balance of performance and power and is ideal for wide range of power-sensitive handheld devices such as mobile phones, tablets and devices such as single board computers that are used across a wide array of applications.


ARM Hard Macros are available in a number of different implementation options with more being added.

Currently the following options are available.                      

  Process
Processor TSMC
40LP 
 TSMC
40G 
TSMC
 28HPM
Cortex-A5 Single-core  X     
Cortex-A9 Dual-core X
Cortex-A9 Dual-core X    
Cortex-A15 Quad-core X
Cortex-A15 Dual Core     X


ARM Hard macro processors incorporate and are supported by a broad range of ARM technology including  Physical IP and development tools. This technology is complemented by a broad range of SoC and software design solutions, tools and services from the ARM Connected Community™ to provide ARM Partners with a smooth path through the development, verification and production of full function, compelling devices while significantly reducing time-to-market.

Physical IP

ARM Hard Macros are based upon a set of high performance POP™ IP containing advanced ARM Physical IP for 40nm and 28nm technologies to enable rapid development of leadership physical implementations. ARM is also working early to assure a roadmap to 20nm optimizations.

POP IP supports ARM strategy of offering specifically targeted Physical IP to enable Partners to achieve tuned implementations of ARM cores. ARM is uniquely able to design the optimization packs in parallel with the Cortex processor architecture, enabling the processor and physical IP combination to deliver workstation class performance in a mobile power envelope while facilitating rapid time-to-market.

POP IP is composed of three elements necessary to achieve an optimized ARM core implementation.

  • First, it contains ARM Artisan® Physical IP logic libraries and memory instances that are specifically tuned for a given ARM core and process technology. This Physical IP is developed through a tightly coupled collaboration with ARM Processor Division engineers in an iterative process to identify the optimal results.
  • Second, it includes a comprehensive benchmarking report to document the exact conditions and results ARM achieved for the core implementation.
  • Finally, it includes a POP Implementation Guide that details the methodology used to achieve the result, to enable the end customer to achieve the same implementation quickly and at low risk.

Tools Support

All ARM processors are fully supported in the ARM Development Suite 5 (DS-5™) tool suite, as well as a wide range of third party tools, operating systems and EDA flows. 

ARM DS-5 software development tools are unique in their ability to provide solutions that take full advantage of the complete ARM technology portfolio. The ARM Development Studio 5 (DS-5™) provides a complete range of software tools to create, debug and optimize systems based on the Cortex-A15 MPCore processor. It incorporates the DS-5 Debugger, whose powerful and intuitive graphical environment enables fast debugging of bare metal, Linux and Android native applications. In addition, its new ARM Streamline™ Performance Analyzer simplifies the identification of hot spots in software and load balancing between cores. Early software development before silicon availability is enabled by the ARM Compiler, and an ARM Versatile™ Reference Virtual Platform built on ARM Fast Models technology. This Virtual Platform is available for a free 6-month evaluation.


Maximise


Cookies

We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use our site you consent to our cookies.

Change Settings

Find out more about the cookies we set