Login

Cortex-R4 处理器

Cortex-R4 处理器 Image (View Larger Cortex-R4 处理器 Image)

ARM® Cortex®-R4 处理器是第一款基于 ARMv7-R 架构的深度嵌入式实时处理器。它用于产量高、深度嵌入式的片上系统应用,例如硬盘驱动器控制器、无线基带处理器、消费类产品和汽车系统的电子控制单元。

Cortex-R4 处理器可提供更高的性能、实时的响应速度、可靠性和高容错能力,而且它提供的功能也远远多于同类中的其他处理器。此处理器为 ASIC、ASSP 和 MCU 嵌入式应用提供出色的能效和成本效益。Cortex-R4 处理器非常灵活,还可以在综合时进行配置以优化其功能集,以便精确匹配应用需求。

Cortex-R 系列处理器通过确保其运行的确定性来推动安全的系统设计,也不会被外部存储系统或者总线主设备阻止运行若干个不可预测的周期,从而保证了它的高可用性。

 


Cortex-R4

Cortex-R4 处理器是为实现高级芯片工艺而设计的,其设计重点是更高的能效、实时的响应速度、高级功能和简单的系统设计。该处理器提供高度灵活且有效的双周期本地内存接口,使 SoC 设计者可以最大限度地降低系统成本和功耗。

Cortex-R4 主要功能摘要

  • 快速 - 高性能 1.66 DMIPS/MHz
    • 带指令预取和分支预测的高效 8 级双指令流水线
    • ARMv7R 架构 - Thumb-2 / ARM 指令
    • 硬件除法、SIMD、DSP、SP/DP FPU 选项
    • 哈佛 I + D cache、64 位 AMBA AXI-3
  • 确定性 - 快速中断响应
    • 矢量中断控制器端口
    • 低延迟中断模式 (LLIM) 可尽量加快中断进入速度,而无需等待当前指令或内存访问完成
    • 除了用于存储重要的代码和数据(如中断服务例程无需等待 cache 逐出再从主内存读取就可以立即执行),紧密耦合存储系统也提供第二个1级存储
    • 低延迟外设端口 (LLPP) 为外设访问提供有保证的低延迟
  • 可靠性 - 构建于内核中的错误处理
    • 内存保护单元
    • 1 级内存的 ECC 和奇偶校验保护
    • 双核锁步配置
  • 经济实惠,拥有成本低

ARM Cortex-R4 处理器

功能 说明
微架构 带指令预取、分支预测和所选双指令执行功能的 8 级流水线。加载存储、MAC、移位 ALU、除法和浮点的并行执行路径。1.66 Dhrystone MIPS/MHz。硬件除法器。与经典 ARM9 和 ARM11 嵌入式处理器系列的二进制兼容性。
指令集 具有 Thumb-2 和 thumb 的 ARMv7-R 架构。DSP 扩展。可选浮点单元。
Cache 控制器 具有可选的集成指令和数据 cache 控制器的哈佛内存架构。从 4 到 64 KB 的可配置cache 大小。Cache 行是回写的或是透写的。
紧密耦合内存 可选紧密耦合内存接口。TCM 用于具有高确定性或可能无法很好地响应 cache 的低延迟应用,例如中断服务例程的指令代码和需要密集处理的数据。一或两个逻辑 TCM(A 和 B)可用于任意混合的代码和数据。TCM 大小最高可达 8 MB。TCM B 具有两个物理端口 B0 和 B1,用于交叉传输传入的 DMA 数据流。
中断接口 标准中断 IRQ、不可屏蔽的快速中断以及 FIQ 输入将通过一个 VIC 中断控制器矢量端口一起提供。如果需要更复杂的基于优先级的中断处理,还可以使用 GIC 中断控制器。此处理器包含低延迟中断技术,通过这种技术,可以中断和重新启动较长的多周期指令。在某些情况下,还会推迟冗长的内存访问。单独使用 FIQ 时,最差情况下的中断响应可能低至 20 个周期。
内存保护单元 可选 MPU 可配置八或十二个区域的属性,每个区域都具有低至 32 字节的分辨率。区域可以重叠,编号最高的区域具有最高优先级。
浮点单元 可选浮点单元 (FPU) 实现具有 16 个双精度寄存器且符合 IEEE754 的 ARM 矢量浮点架构 VFPv3。FPU 性能已针对单精度计算进行了优化,并且还完全支持双精度。运算包括加、减、乘、除、乘积累加、平方根、定点和浮点之间的转换,以及浮点常数指令。
ECC 针对具有 ECC 位的 cache 和/或 TCM 内存的可选单位错误更正和双位错误检测。处理器将自动更正单位软错误。
奇偶校验 对 cache 和/或 TCM 中奇偶校验位错误检测的可选支持。
主 AXI 总线 2 级内存和外设访问的 64 位 AMBA AXI 总线主设备。
从属 AXI 总线 可选 64 位 AMBA AXI 总线从属设备端口允许 DMA 主设备访问双端口 TCM B 接口,以使数据可以快速流入或流出处理器。
调试 提供了调试访问端口。可以使用 DK-R4 扩展其功能。
Trace 提供了适合连接到 CoreSight 嵌入式 Trace 模块的接口。
双核 双处理器配置以带有偏移时钟和比较逻辑的锁步方式实现冗余 Cortex-R4 CPU,以获得可靠的容错/故障检测系统。
配置 带用于配置综合选项的工具的可综合 Verilog RTL。

Cortex-R4 性能、功耗和面积

处理器面积、频率和功耗在很大程度上取决于工艺、库和优化。下表估计了针对 Cortex-R4 处理器的典型单处理器实现,该实现基于主流低功耗工艺技术(40 纳米 LP),使用高密度、标准性能单元库、32KB 指令 cache 和 32KB 数据 cache。

Cortex-R4 单处理器

40 纳米 LP
最大时钟频率 600MHz  以上
性能 1.66 DMIPS/MHz 
总面积(包括内核、RAM 和路由) 0.5 mm2
效率 24 DMIPS/mW 起

可使用 ARM 系统 IP、开发工具和物理 IP 来实现完整的 Cortex-R4 系统。

CoreLink™和 CoreSight™ 系统 IP

NIC-400 用于 AMBA 3 AXI、AHB-Lite 和 APB 组件的可配置分层低延迟互连。配置的范围可从单个桥组件(如 AHB 到 AXI 协议桥)到不同 AMBA 协议组合中 128 个主设备和 64 个从属设备的大型基础结构。
QOS-400 已添加到 NIC-400 以最大限度地减少平均延迟并保证关键接口(如 DDR 内存)在最坏情况下的延迟和带宽。
DMC-34x 动态内存控制器通过利用 AXI 互连功能优化内存请求调度并使用内置“Quality of Service”控件管理启动程序的延迟和带宽要求,为 DRAM 提供高效接口。支持的内存类型包括 SDR、DDR、LPDDR(移动 DDR)、eDRAM、DDR2 和 LPDDR2(移动 DDR2)。
SMC-35x 静态内存控制器使用高度可配置的参数将 AXI 互连连接到一系列的非易失性内存。支持的内存类型包括 SRAM、NAND 闪存和 NOR 闪存。
L2C-310 2 级 cache 控制器,旨在提升性能的同时降低发送至系统内存的总体流量并因此降低 SoC 功耗。减少对芯片外内存带宽的需求可释放资源以供其他主设备使用。
DMA-330 一种高度灵活的可微编程直接内存访问控制器,用于高端高性能高能效的基于 AXI 的处理系统。
PL192 一种 AMBA AHB 高级矢量中断控制器 (VIC),支持高达 32 个具有可编程优先级和屏蔽的矢量中断。
GIC400 一个AMBA AHB 和 AXI 可扩展、可配置、低门数,并且能够在内存中存储中断向量地址的中断控制器。选项包括多处理器和 TrustZone 支持。
ETM-R4 该嵌入式 Trace 宏单元提供实时指令和数据 trace,并且配置为全速捕获指定的处理器事件序列之前和之后的信息。
DK-R4 一个包括 ETM-R4 和全功能调试访问端口 (DAP) 的完整调试工具包,用于补充每个 Cortex-R4 随附的 DAP-Lite。DK 组件包括 DAP、交叉触发器、ETM、AMBA 总线 trace、Serial-Wire 调试、trace 聚合器、trace 缓冲区、trace 端口接口和 Serial-Wire 查看器。

开发工具

所有 Cortex-R 系列处理器均受 ARM Development Suite 5 (DS-5™) 工具套件以及各种第三方工具、操作系统和 EDA 流程的支持。ARM DS-5 软件开发工具独一无二,能够提供的解决方案充分利用完整 ARM 技术组合的优势。特定于 Cortex-R4 的工具包括:

ARM DS-5 具有已针对 Cortex-R4 进行优化的 Thumb-2 的 ARM 编译器 5.0。
快速模型 借助 ARM 快速模型,可以在芯片可用之前开始软件开发。这些经过充分验证的程序员视图模型提供了对基于 ARM 的系统的访问权限,适用于早期软件开发。
Versatile Express Versatile™ Express 系列开发平台提供了为下一代片上系统设计而建立原型的合适环境。
软宏单元模型 软宏单元模型 (SMM) 是 ARM 处理器的一种 FPGA 实现形式,是使用 ARM 开发板构建的

物理 IP

ARM 优化的物理 IP 平台,用于基于领先的半导体工艺技术获得 Cortex-R4 的同类最佳实现。

标准单元逻辑库 ARM 标准单元库在多种不同的架构中可用,支持一个适用于所有 SoC 设计类型的、十分广泛的性能范围。设计人员可以选择不同的库,并针对速度、功耗和/或面积优化其设计。
内存编译器和寄存器 各种不同的经过硅验证的 SRAM、Register File 和 ROM 内存编译器,它们适用于所有类型的 SoC 设计,包括性能关键应用以及成本敏感和低功耗应用。
接口 IP 为符合不断变化的系统架构和标准而设计的一系列硅验证接口 IP。通用 I/O、专用 I/O、高速 DDR 和串行接口经过优化,可以通过低针数实现高数据吞吐量性能。

白皮书 



 
 
» 
Cortex-R4 Powered Products
Go Left
Go Right

Maximise


Cookies

We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use our site you consent to our cookies.

Change Settings

Find out more about the cookies we set

Login

Cortex-R4 Processor

Cortex-R4 Processor Image (View Larger Cortex-R4 Processor Image)

The Cortex®-R4 processor is the first deeply embedded real-time processor based on the ARMv7-R architecture. It is for use in high-volume, deeply embedded System-on-Chip applications, for example, hard disk drive controllers, wireless baseband processors, consumer products and electronic control units for automotive systems.

The Cortex-R4 processor delivers substantially higher performance, real-time responsiveness, reliability and dependability with high error resistance, and offers more features than other processors in its class. This processor offers excellent energy efficiency and cost effectiveness for ASIC, ASSP and MCU embedded applications. The Cortex-R4 processor is very flexible and can be configured at synthesis time to optimize its feature set for a precise match with application requirements.

The Cortex-R series processors contribute to safe system design by enabling the processor to operate deterministically and not have its execution blocked for an unpredictable number of cycles by the external memory system or other bus masters; thereby enabling high availability.

 


Cortex-R4

The Cortex-R4 processor, designed for implementation on advanced silicon processes with an emphasis on improved energy efficiency, real-time responsiveness, advanced features and ease of system design. The processor provides a highly flexible and efficient two-cycle local memory interface, enabling SoC designers to minimize system cost and energy consumption.

Summary of Cortex-R4 Key Features

  • Fast – high performance 
    • Power-efficient, 8-stage dual issue pipeline with instruction pre-fetch and branch prediction
    • ARMv7R architecture - Thumb-2 / ARM instructions
    • Hardware divide, SIMD, DSP, SP/DP FPU option
    • Harvard I + D caches, 64-bit AMBA AXI-3
  • Deterministic – fast interrupt response
    • Vectored Interrupt Controller port
    • Low Latency Interrupt Mode (LLIM) to accelerate interrupt entry whenever possible without waiting for the current instruction or memory access to complete
    • Tightly-Coupled Memory system which provides a second level-1 memory besides the cache for storing critical code and data such as interrupt service routines which can then be immediately executed without waiting for cache evictions and fetches from main memory 
  • Reliable – error handling built into core
    • Memory Protection Unit
    • ECC and Parity protection on L1 memories
    • Dual core lock-step configuration
  • Cost-effective and low cost of ownership

ARM Cortex-R4 Processor

Feature

Description

Micro-architecture Eight-stage pipeline with instruction pre-fetch, branch prediction and selected dual-issue execution. Parallel execution paths for load-store, MAC, shift-ALU, divide and floating point. 1.66 Dhrystone MIPS/MHz. Hardware divider. Binary compatibility with classic ARM9 and ARM11 embedded processor famlies.
Instruction Set ARMv7-R architecture with Thumb-2 and thumb. DSP extensions. Optional floating-point unit.
Cache controllers Harvard memory architecture with optional integrated Instruction and Data cache controllers. Cache sizes configurable from 4 to 64 KB. Cache lines are either write-back or write-through.
Tightly-Coupled Memories Optional Tightly-Coupled Memory interfaces. Use TCMs for highly deterministic or low-latency applications that may not respond well to caching, e.g. instruction code for interrupt service routines and data that requires intense processing. One or two logical TCMs, A and B, can be used for any mix of code and data. TCM size can be up to 8 MB. TCM B has two physical ports, B0 and B1, for interleaving incoming DMA data streams.
Interrupt interface Standard interrupt, IRQ, and non-maskable fast interrupt, FIQ and inputs are provided together with a VIC interrupt controller vector port. The GIC interrupt controller can also be used if more complex priority-based interrupt handling is required. The processor includes low-latency interrupt technology that allows long multi-cycle instructions to interrupted and restarted. Lengthy memory accesses are also deferred in certain circumstances. Worst-case interrupt response can be as low as 20-cycles using the FIQ alone.
Memory Protection Unit Optional MPU configures attributes for either eight or twelve regions, each with resolution down to 32 Bytes. Regions can overlap, and the highest numbered region has highest priority.
Floating Point Unit Optional Floating Point Unit (FPU) implements the ARM Vector Floating Point architecture VFPv3 with 16 double-precision registers, compliant with IEEE754. The FPU performance, optimized for single precision calculations, has full support for double precision. Operations include add, subtract, multiply, divide, multiply and accumulate, square root, conversions between fixed and floating-point, and floating-point constant instructions.
ECC Optional single-bit error correction and two-bit error detection for cache and/or TCM memories with ECC bits. Single-bit soft errors are automatically corrected by the processor.
Parity Optional support for parity bit error detection in caches and/or TCMs.
Master AXI bus 64-bit AMBA AXI bus master for Level-2 memory and peripheral access.
Slave AXI bus Optional 64-bit AMBA AXI bus slave port allows DMA masters to access the dual-port TCM B interface for high speed streaming of data in and out of the processor.
Debug Debug Access Port is provided. Its functionality can be extended with DK-R4.
Trace An interface suitable for connection to CoreSight Embedded Trace Module is present.
Dual core A dual processor configuration implements a redundant Cortex-R4 CPU in lock step with offset clocks and comparison logic for fault tolerant/fault detecting dependable systems.
Configuration Synthesizable Verilog RTL with facility to configure options for synthesis.

Cortex-R4 Performance Power and Area

Processor area, frequency and power consumption are highly dependent on process, libraries and optimizations. The table below estimates a typical single processor implementation of the Cortex-R4 processor on mainstream low power process technology (40nm LP) with high-density, standard-performance cell libraries and 32KB instruction cache and 32KB data cache.

Cortex-R4 Single Processor

40nm LP

Maximum clock frequency Above 600MHz 
Performance 1.68 / 2.02 / 2.45 DMIPS/MHz
3.47 CoreMark/MHz
Total area (Including Core+RAM+Routing) From 0.5 mm2
Efficiency From 24 DMIPS/mW 

* The first result abides by all of the 'ground rules' laid out in the Dhrystone documentation, the second permits inlining of functions (not just the permitted C string libraries) while the third additionally permits simultaneous multifile complilation. All are with the original (K&R) v2.1 of Dhrystone.


Use ARM System IP, Development Tools and Physical IP to implement complete Cortex-R4 systems.

CoreLink™ and CoreSight™ System IP

NIC-400 Configurable hierarchic low latency interconnect for AMBA 3 AXI, AHB-Lite and APB components. Configurations can range from a single bridge component, such as an AHB to AXI protocol bridge, to a large infrastructure of 128 masters and 64 slaves in combinations of different AMBA protocols.
QOS-400 Added to NIC-400 to minimize average latency and guarantee worst-case latency and bandwidth of critical interfaces such as DDR memory.
DMC-34x Dynamic memory controllers providing highly efficient interfaces to DRAM by leveraging AXI interconnect features to optimize memory request scheduling and using built-in Quality of Service controls to manage the initiator's latency and bandwidth requirements. Memory types supported include SDR, DDR, LPDDR (Mobile DDR), eDRAM, DDR2 and LPDDR2 (Mobile DDR2).
SMC-35x Static memory controllers interface AXI interconnects to a range of non-volatile memories with highly configurable parameters. Memory types supported include SRAM, NAND Flash and NOR Flash.
L2C-310 Level-2 cache controller designed to boost performance while reducing overall traffic to system memory and therefore SoC energy consumption. Reducing demands on off-chip memory bandwidth frees up resources for other masters.
DMA-330 A highly flexible micro-programmable Direct Memory Access controller for high-end high-performance energy-efficient AXI-based processing systems.
PL192 An AMBA AHB advanced Vectored Interrupt Controller (VIC) supporting up to 32 vectored interrupts with programmable priority level and masking.
GIC400 An AMBA AHB and AXI scalable, configurable, low gate count Interrupt Controller that stores vector addresses in memory. Options include multi-processor and TrustZone support.
ETM-R4 The Embedded Trace Macrocell provides real-time instruction and data trace and is configured to capture information before and after a specified sequence of events with the processor at full speed.
DK-R4 A complete Debug Kit including ETM-R4 and a fully featured Debug Access Port (DAP) to complement the DAP-Lite shipped with every Cortex-R4. DK components include DAP, cross trigger, ETM, AMBA bus trace, serial wire debug, trace funnel, trace buffer, trace port interface and serial wire viewer.

Development Tools

The ARM Development Suite 5 (DS-5™) tool suite, as well as a wide range of third party tools, operating systems and EDA flows support all Cortex-R series processors. ARM DS-5 software development tools are unique in their ability to provide solutions that take full advantage of the complete ARM technology portfolio. Tools specific to Cortex-R4 are:

ARM DS-5 ARM Compiler 5.0 with Thumb-2 optimized for Cortex-R4.
Fast Models With ARM Fast Models, software development can begin prior to silicon availability. These extensively validated programmer’s view models provide access to ARM-based systems suitable for early software development.
Versatile Express The Versatile™ Express family of development platforms provides the right environment for prototyping the next generation of system-on-chip designs.
Soft Macrocell Model A Soft Macrocell Model (SMM) is an FPGA implementation of an ARM processor, built with ARM development boards

Physical IP

ARM optimized Physical IP platforms for best-in-class implementations of Cortex-R4 on leading semiconductor process technologies.

Standard cell logic libraries Available in a variety of different architectures, ARM Standard Cell Libraries support a wide performance range for all types of SoC designs. Designers can choose between different libraries and optimize their designs for speed, power and/or area.
Memory compilers and registers A broad array of silicon proven SRAM, Register File and ROM memory compilers for all types of SoC designs ranging from performance critical to cost sensitive and low power applications.
Interface IP A broad portfolio of silicon-proven Interface IP designed to meet varying system architectures and standards. General Purpose I/O, Specialty I/O, High Speed DDR and Serial Interfaces, optimized to deliver high data throughput performance with low pin counts.

ARM Connected Community

Cortex-R4 related blogs, discussions, technical content

White Papers 

Cortex-R4 processor (348KB)

 
 
» 
Cortex-R4 Powered Products
Go Left
Go Right

Maximise


Cookies

We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use our site you consent to our cookies.

Change Settings

Find out more about the cookies we set